On May 24, 2012, U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) issued an Interim Policy on Gluten Content Statements in the Labeling and Advertising of Wines, Distilled Spirits, and Malt Beverages (TTB Ruling 2012-2).
FDA proposed to define gluten free as:
- an ingredient that is a species of wheat, rye, barley, or a crossbred hybrid of these grains;
- an ingredient derived from these grains and that has not been processed to remove gluten;
- an ingredient derived from these grains and that has been processed to remove gluten, if the use of that ingredient results in the presence of 20 or more parts per million (ppm) gluten in the food; or
- 20 ppm or more gluten.
Pending the issuance of a final rule by FDA, TTB is providing interim guidance on the use of the term “gluten free” on alcohol beverage labels and advertisements subject to TTB’s authority.
Alcohol Products Made from Gluten-Free Materials
TTB’s position is that the term “gluten-free” will be interpreted by consumers of alcohol beverages to mean that the product contains no gluten. TTB provided the example of wine fermented from grapes, or vodka distilled from potatoes. If there are good manufacturing practices – meaning no cross-contamination, no additives, no yeast, and no storage materials with gluten – a ‘gluten-free’ claim in the labeling of the alcohol beverage will be permissible in the interim period awaiting FDA’s final rule.
Alcohol Products Made from Gluten-Containing Materials
FDA and TTB […]